The mission of the Franklin County Suicide Prevention Coalition is to “Prevent suicide by increasing public awareness.” The activities of this program are largely focused on promoting awareness by engaging a wider base of NCMHSconcerned stakeholders, developing public relations/media activities to educate the public at large, providing training to gatekeepers, and reducing risk factors and enhancing protective factors among at-risk groups.

Coalition partners who currently serve ADAMH system consumers and families include: Mental Health America of Franklin County, Children’s Hospital Behavioral Health, Suicide Prevention Services, Netcare ACCESS, and Northwest Counseling Services. There is also community involvement in the Coalition from non-ADAMH partners including: Survivors of Suicide, OhioHealth, Columbus Public Health Child Fatality Review Board, Columbus State Community College, the Ohio Psychiatric Physicians Association, the Veterans Administration, the Franklin County Coroner, the Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Corrections, DeVry University, and the Ohio State University.

Interested parties in joining the Coalition should contact Suicide Prevention Services, North Central Mental Health, 1301 N. High Street, Columbus, Ohio 43201-2460. 614.299.6600. X 2073.

Be Sociable, Share!